The Biggest Mistake That I Made on Medium

I wish I could turn back the time

Olivia Marlene
2 min readOct 3, 2022
Photo by George Becker: https://www.pexels.com/photo/1-1-3-text-on-black-chalkboard-374918/

It’s been 2 years since I created an account and started posting content on this site. The 5th of September 2020 marked my first published story here. I was full of hope and energy, finally fulfilling my dream to become a blogger.

While I used my first month to learn the ropes, I was able to write 13 stories and earn $3.08. That was a huge accomplishment for me.

In my second month, my earnings grew to $15.20 in exchange for 11 stories. To have my membership fee covered was another milestone. But what made me celebrate was my first “curation”. For a newbie blogger, the feeling given by that achievement is beyond compare.

I had my stint as a “ top writer” in my 5th month.

By the end of my first year, my follower count grew to 2k and I had these average stats per month:

Views: 1600
Reads: 900
Earning: $20

Unfortunately, in my 2nd year, with 3k followers, I earned an average of $1 or less per month. I’m just paying the membership fee so as to have a reason to stay on Medium and not give up my interest in writing.

My 1st Medium mistake

--

--

Olivia Marlene

A law abiding non-conformist. A lawyer by profession, a mom by nature. Her hobby is to challenge the norm. Reach her at: missoliviamarlene@gmail.com