18 Years of Working in the Same Organization

What made me stay?

Olivia Marlene
3 min readMar 25, 2022
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

25 March 2004 — My office birthday

From a clueless newbie to an expert in my field, that’s what 18 years of working in the same office gave me. 18 long years of hard work with some episodes of burn-outs to be honest, but I chose to stay and I have no plans of going out soon.

With my expertise and reputation, there is a whole wide world outside, a lucrative practice if I may say. But here I am, I chose to stay maybe until retirement, who knows?

What made me stay?

  1. Stability and security of tenure
    I have kids and extended family members who depend on me. I just can’t resign and go job hunting all the time. It gives me peace of mind that I receive a nice paycheque twice a month.
  2. Challenging work
    My work does not involve the same tasks every day. Each file that I work on has its own merits and tricky issues that I need to resolve. I need to do logical and critical analysis after the results of subject matter research have been laid down and it is what I love the most about my job.
  3. Good work environment
    The Office that I work for is one of the best that made me proud to belong. Who wants to get out without a compelling reason?
  4. Recognition
    My efforts didn’t go…

--

--

Olivia Marlene

A law abiding non-conformist. A lawyer by profession, a mom by nature. Her hobby is to challenge the norm. Reach her at: missoliviamarlene@gmail.com